web analytics

Tri-State area

New York metropolitan area (also Tri-State area) includes the largest city in the United States (New York City), the five largest cities in New Jersey (Newark, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Paterson, andTrenton) and six of the seven largest cities in Connecticut(Bridgeport, New Haven, Stamford, Waterbury, Norwalk, andDanbury).

It is the most populous metropolitan area in the United States(including both the Metropolitan Statistical Area definition and theCombined Statistical Area definition) and one of the most populous in the world. 

The total area of the metropolitan area is 11,842 sq mi (30,671 km2). As a center of many industries including entertainment, finance, news media, and manufacturing, it is one of the most important regions in the United States and the world.